Toronto Rehabilitation Institute


To transform lives, we take bold steps. This means continuously elevating our ambitions and not settling for less when it comes to improving the lives of others and all those on TeamUHN.​

We know the road to excellence is not covered by a single plan, but a shared commitment to the betterment of all. UHN’s 2019-23 Strategic Plan is built on that shared commitment and serves as our guide for harnessing our efforts across care, research and education. This plan will help us make important choices and presents our way to a better future —​ A Healthier World for all.

Program Description:

One of North America’s largest and most diverse SCI rehabilitation
research groups – that develops and evaluates novel rehabilitation
devices and therapies. The NET Team includes seven scientists, eight
adjunct scientists, four postdoctoral fellows, 24 graduate students and
24 research staff. Transferring research innovations into clinical best
practices ensures that Toronto Rehab patients benefit from the latest
therapeutic and technological advancements in SCI rehabilitation. 


Implementation in Action

Consortium Team Members

Cathy Craven- Medical Director 

Heather Flett - Advance Practice Leader

Iona MacRitchie – Program Services Manager 

Greta Mighty – Program Services Manager  

Kristina Guy - Program Services Manager  

Sandra Mills- Patient and Family Educator

Carol Scovil- Assistive Technology Specialist/IES

Martha McKay- Clinical Psychologist              

Kristen Cameron – Community Member 

Paula Cripps-McMartin – Clinical Director 

Farnoosh Farahani – Evaluation Manager 

Therese Salenieks – Research Clerk

Nelly Ventre- Speech Language Pathologist/IES    

Carrie Mizzoni – Occupational therapist/IES 

Chelsea Wong – Physiotherapist/IES  

Kristina Plourde – Physiotherapist/IES

Carol McAnuff- Clinical Nurse Specialist              

Christie Yao- Clinical Psychologist     

Jennifer Hou- Advanced Practice Nurse Educator

Jessica Grummitt – Psychometrist

Matheus Wiest – Postdoctoral Fellow 

Gayathiri Jeyathevan – Postdoctoral Fellow 

Reza Amiri – Postdoctoral Fellow

Mohammad Alavinia - Scientific Associate